The Ten Commandments of GOD...

1. Thou shalt have no other gods before me. 

2. Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain.

3. Remember to keep holy the Lord's Day.

4. Honor thy Father and Mother.

 5. Thou shalt not kill.

 6. Thou shalt not commit adultery. 

7. Thou shalt not steal. 

8. Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor

9. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor's wife. 

10. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor's goods.

God gave Moses the Ten Commandments on Mount Sinai to serve as principles of moral behavior for the human race. The Ten Commandments of God are the foundation of the moral code and legal system of justice for Western Christian civilization.

The architecture of the U. S. Supreme Court building reflects this biblical foundation. At the center of the sculpture over the east portico of the Supreme Court Building, there is the image of Moses holding the two tablets of the Ten Commandments; these are also engraved over the chair of the Chief Justice and on the bronze doors of the Supreme Court.

The Decalogue is recorded both in the Books of
(20:1-17) and
(5:6-21), two of the five Books of Moses (also known as the Torah, Law, or Pentateuch). The Ten Commandments were given to Moses on two tablets of stone on Mount Sinai.

This page first presents the Ten Commandments in the English translation of the passage from Deuteronomy. The phrases in red comprise the Ten Commandments. There are twelve phrases in red, as the major religions of the West adopted different phrases of the first paragraph, accounting for the variation in numbering of the Ten Commandments for Judaism, Catholics, Orthodox, and Protestants.

A Comparative Table follows. The first column are the Ten Commandments in Judaism, which are presented in Hebrew in the image that follows. The second column are the Ten Commandments in the order given by Augustine of Hippo, and the third column that of Origen of Alexandria. While there is considerable variation, Roman Catholics and Lutherans follow the order given by Augustine, whereas Eastern Catholics, Orthodox, and other Protestants follow the order given by Origen.

We know there are Ten Commandments, because the Bible tells us so in Exodus 34:28, Deuteronomy 10:4, and the following passage:

"He proclaimed to you his covenant, which he commanded you to keep:the Ten Commandments, which he wrote on two tablets of stone."